Going back to Paradise

In the midst of a political crisis in my home country, instead of going back to chaos, we found ourselves in a safe haven. In July 15th, we flew from Istanbul to Bodrum, a southern touristic town in Turkey to learn a specific ceramic glazing technique. Yet, the night we were there the whole country went into a crisis which we still cannot understand or analyze. The ceramic workshop was no longer available. We were facing the two options: going back to Istanbul or going further south.

IMG_2653

After two hours on the road during a Monday afternoon we arrived to Akyaka, a small town known for its kite-surfing location and green plains. We decided to learn kite-surfing since it was a long-time plan to do. We arranged the lessons, ate lunch and we were set to go.

IMG_2668

A year ago, I was in the same location without knowing, in a different mindset with different plans. While we were driving through the old Marmaris Road, filled with Eucalyptus trees on both sides, it felt as a time travel into a 70s Turkish film. The road is still the most peaceful place for me.

marmarisyolu copy

Each morning, on our shuttle to the kitesurfing, we drove through through that road. Every moment was a bliss. One morning a chubby dog with stick legs jumps into the shuttle. The next day, the event of the whole town is the birthday party of a 10 year old kid. Everyone says good morning, everyone asks you about your day, ambitions, dreams. I was in a parallel universe.

IMG_2695

I eventually learned how to stand up and go down-wind after being dragged behind a fourteen square meter kite for few days. I still need to practice a lot. Other than kitesurfing, I learned other things about life in Akyaka, I found hope again for friendship and kindness with beautiful people who live lives from a fairytale. Its a place where you can eat fruits from its branches, become friends with anyone and no one has prejudice. I do not want to tell all the small details because it is nice to keep some of the happy moments to myself but I want to share some of the photos I have taken to show that peaceful places still exist and these places are not too far. Akyaka has changed me and I now see things differently.

IMG_2690

IMG_2687

IMG_2698

 

IMG_2721

Leave a comment